by Michael F. Shaughnessy Education Views Senior Columnist – EducationViews.org

Every once in a while, a book comes along that is both educative as well as entertaining. Such a book is “ The Dreaming Stone “ by Louis Markos. While Louis Markos needs no introduction to some who are knowledgeable, and culturally literate, Louis is a scholar par excellence in the tradition of C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien, and his books and his works have been very well received ( he has 11 books and two lecture series with The Teaching Company- The Life and Writings of C.S. Lewis; Plato to Postmodernism: Understanding the Essence of Literature, and the  Role of the Author ( available at www.teach12.com )

But onto the book itself. Alex and Stacy are the main characters in this book, and their adventures take them to Greece, and during their sojourn, they encounter a number of characters that once populated the country of Greece and that have lived on in mythology. Louis Markos takes us to the Acropolis, and re-introduces us to Hercules, Socrates, Icarus and Daedalus. In this treasure trove, we learn the correct pronunciation of various Greek words, and are re-introduced to those fascinating heroes of the past as well as the places of the past- Hades, the Underworld.  We all have some familiarity with some of these names- Agamemnon, Cyclops, Pegasus, but Louis brings these characters and mythological being to life, not only with an adventure for Alex and Stacy, but with important life lessons to be learned.

Read More –>

The Dreaming Stone

$8.99$19.95

It was just a small stone in the shape of an egg and a common-looking set of panpipes, but when Stacey put the stone under her pillow and Alex played on the pipes, they were magically transported back into the world of Greek Mythology.

Clear
SKU: N/A Categories: , , , ,

Description

Join Alex and Stacey as they ride on the back of the winged horse, Pegasus, descend with Orpheus into the dark depths of Hades, fly with the ill-fated Phaethon in the Golden Chariot of the Sun, help Perseus slay the evil Medusa, and face, alongside King Theseus, the dreaded Minotaur.

About the author:

Louis Markos is a Professor of English and Scholar in Residence at Houston Baptist University, where he teaches courses on British Romantic and Victorian Poetry and Prose, the Classics, C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien, and Film. He holds a B.A. in English and History from Colgate University and an M.A. and Ph.D. in English from the University of Michigan.  He is the author of numerous books and articles on literature and C.S. Lewis.

Enjoy a sample of The Dreaming Stone:

the_dreaming_stone_sample

Additional information

Weight 7 oz
Dimensions 8.5 x 5.5 x 1 in
formats-available

, ,

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Dreaming Stone”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *