by Michael F. Shaughnessy Education Views Senior Columnist – EducationViews.org

Every once in a while, a book comes along that is both educative as well as entertaining. Such a book is “ The Dreaming Stone “ by Louis Markos. While Louis Markos needs no introduction to some who are knowledgeable, and culturally literate, Louis is a scholar par excellence in the tradition of C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien, and his books and his works have been very well received ( he has 11 books and two lecture series with The Teaching Company- The Life and Writings of C.S. Lewis; Plato to Postmodernism: Understanding the Essence of Literature, and the  Role of the Author ( available at www.teach12.com )

But onto the book itself. Alex and Stacy are the main characters in this book, and their adventures take them to Greece, and during their sojourn, they encounter a number of characters that once populated the country of Greece and that have lived on in mythology. Louis Markos takes us to the Acropolis, and re-introduces us to Hercules, Socrates, Icarus and Daedalus. In this treasure trove, we learn the correct pronunciation of various Greek words, and are re-introduced to those fascinating heroes of the past as well as the places of the past- Hades, the Underworld.  We all have some familiarity with some of these names- Agamemnon, Cyclops, Pegasus, but Louis brings these characters and mythological being to life, not only with an adventure for Alex and Stacy, but with important life lessons to be learned.

Read More –>